Economic Community of West African States-ECOWAS


The Economic Community of West African States is the largest regional economic cooperation organization for developing countries in Africa. Headquartered in Abuja, the capital of Nigeria, the committee currently has 15 member states with a population of 385 million, accounting for nearly one-third of the total population of Africa.

  • Established time: May 28, 1975
  • Place of establishment: Lagos
  • Headquarters: Abuja
  • Main activities: As of January 2021, ECOWAS has held 58 summits.
  • June 19, 2021 ECOWAS: 15 countries decided to issue a unified currency in 2027. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) announced that the road map for launching a single currency in 2027 has been approved by the heads of member states. It is reported that the new currency is named “ECO”

Purpose of the organization

Economic Community of West African States ECOWAS
The purpose is to promote the development and cooperation of member states in political, economic, social and cultural aspects, improve people’s living standards, strengthen mutual relations, and contribute to the progress and development of Africa.

Organization system

6 institutions

  • Summit
  • Council of ministers
  • Committee
  • ECOWAS Parliament
  • ECOWAS Court
  • West West Community Investment and Development Bank

15 member states

As of January 2019, there are 15 members: Benin, Burkina Faso, Togo, Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal .
Among them, Guinea and Niger were suspended in membership due to military coups in December 2008 and February 2010, respectively. The membership of the two countries was restored in 2011. [2-3] Côte d’Ivoire (due to disputes in the 2010 presidential election). Mauritania withdrew from ECOWAS on December 31, 2000.

Organization leader

The current rotating chairman of the summit is Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari (Muhammadu Buhari), and the chairman of the committee Jean-Claude Brou (Jean-Claude Brou).
The former executive chairman was Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan (Goodluck Jonathan), and the chairman of the committee was Ghanaian President’s Foreign Affairs Adviser James Victor Gbeho (James Victor Gbeho)